Nassau County Underage DWI Lawyer
Helping Underage Drivers Fight Serious DWI Penalties
In Nassau County and across New York state, lawmakers and police officers have a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. If you are under 21 years of age and are caught driving with any amount of alcohol in your system, you will be charged with underage DWI/DUI or under the zero tolerance law, depending on the reading.
The consequences associated with an underage DWI conviction are steep and include fines, probation, increased insurance rates, community service and even jail. There are also collateral consequences to consider. A criminal conviction could affect your ability to obtain and keep scholarships, college eligibility and your ability to get a job. In addition, if you are placed on probation, you cannot leave the state.
Arrested for DWI while underage? Contact our Nassau County underage DWI attorney to start discussing your case today.
Loss Of License For Under 21 DWI In New York
If you are not yet 21 years of age and you are convicted of:
- DWI — you will lose your license for at least a year
- Refusing a breath test — your license will be revoked for one year
- Aggravated DWI — your license will automatically be revoked for one year
- A second underage DWI within five years — you will lose your license for one year or until you are 21 years of age, whichever is longer
Even if you are found not guilty of the criminal charges, you will still face a DMV hearing and could lose your license. This is why it is so important to get the right legal counsel on your side right away.
Contact a Nassau County underage DWI attorney today for a free initial consultation. (516) 586-0383
Protecting Your Future After An Underage DWI
At Lerner & Lerner, P.C., our seasoned Nassau County underage DWI lawyers are former prosecutors with 70 years of combined experience. We have a dedicated focus on DWI defense and have helped a significant number of clients mitigate the consequences of DWI charges, including underage DWI. We have an arsenal of defense tactics for these important cases and base our strategies on the specific circumstances of each minor age client.
Whether you are a concerned parent or the underage individual who has been charged, our law firm is here to help you understand your rights and options. We will guide you through both the criminal and DMV hearing processes and work to help you through this time with as little stress as possible.
Contact Our Nassau County Attorneys Today To Protect Your Child’s Future
Kim was patient/understanding and easy to work with.- Dan
There is simply no one else to trust with DWI or other criminal charges in Nassau County than this attorney.- Rob
Guided me every step of the way. She's very caring and understanding- Yurman
She is so smart and well respected in the courts.- B.
She is so reasonable and will really listen. I strongly recommend her.- Jennifer