Skip to Content

Penalties for reckless driving in New York


Reckless driving is a broadly defined term and one that can lead to very serious consequences if a person is successfully charged with the crime. You may, for example, face jail time as a consequence, and face five points on your driver’s license.

This is why it is important that you take action to defend yourself against a reckless driving accusation if you believe that you were not guilty of the offense. In order to do this, you should take the time to understand the way in which the law works.

What is reckless driving?

The act of reckless driving is when a person drives without any regard for the safety of other people on the road. This could be through the act of driving at an excessive speed, racing with another vehicle on the road or making a dangerous pass.

What are the consequences of a reckless driving accusation?

If you are convicted of your first reckless driving offense, you could face up to 30 days in jail. If it is your second offense, you could face 90 days of jail time. You could also be required to pay a fine of up to $300 for your first reckless driving offense. The act of reckless driving is also considered a misdemeanor offense, which will mean that you will gain a criminal record. This could affect your future career opportunities.

If you are facing a reckless driving accusation in New York, it is important that you understand the law so that you can take action in defending yourself successfully.