Lerner & Lerner, P.C.

Former prosecutors with more than 50 years of combined experience

Free initial consultations · Phones answered 24/7
Call 516-741-4100 or
Toll Free: 800-747-4996

April 2018 Archives

Is it a traffic offense if I merely bump another car and leave?


When New Yorkers hear the term "hit-and-run" they likely imagine dramatic scenes where speeding vehicles collide with pedestrians and then race off without ever slowing down. While situations such as the one just described do constitute hit-and-run accidents, under New York law a hit-and-run can occur under considerably less obvious circumstances. A person can commit a hit-and-run accident on an unoccupied vehicle and there are important steps that they should take to avoid criminal liability.

Relationship a key component in domestic assault charge


This New York-based criminal defense legal blog has provided its readers with many informative articles on topics related to their rights under state law. It is the goal of this post to introduce readers to one important component of a damaging and often difficult to defend type of assault: domestic assault. One of the key components of this specific assault charge is the existence of a relationship between the accuser and the accused.

Manhattan bankruptcy attorney pleaded guilty to embezzlement

A veteran Lower Manhattan bankruptcy attorney pleaded guilty in a Manhattan federal court to embezzling funds. The attorney admitted to embezzling funds from a client’s bankruptcy estate and transferring the funds to himself. In addition to the federal case, the State of New York charged the man as well but he has yet to plead in the state case.

Driving without a license can get a person into legal trouble


It is not uncommon for a licensed New York driver to run out of their home with their keys in their hand and forget to grab their wallet or purse. While this may not initially seem like a problem for a person who is able to get into and start their car, it may become an issue if they are stopped by a police officer or are involved in a crash and need to show their driving credential. Often when situations such as this arise a driver has a period of time during which they may bring their license in for review to demonstrate that they were in fact legal to drive at the time of their stop or accident.

Underage drinking can cost your teen their driving rights


In the state of New York a person under the age of 21 may not buy or drink alcohol. It may not be consumed with family members or friends, and it is illegal for juveniles to merely possess alcohol. If a juvenile is found to have alcohol in their system while they are driving, they can face significant legal penalties.

Email Us For A Response
  • Rated by Super Lawyers Kimberly D.Lerner Superlawyers.com
  • AV PeerReviewRated
  • Avvo badge
  • National College for DUI Defense

As seen on:

  • CNN
  • Fox News Channel
  • MSNBC

Lerner & Lerner, P.C.

Former prosecutors with more than 50 years of combined experience

Lerner & Lerner, P.C.
1 Old Country Road
Suite 125
Carle Place, NY 11514

Toll Free: 800-747-4996
Phone: 516-741-4100
Fax: 516-741-7485
Carle Place Law Office Map